IS THIS WHAT AMERICAN MOTHERS ARE SUPPORTING?

A picture combo shows Iraqi mother Wafaa Hussein, mourning over the body of her dead son Thaer, aged six, at a Baquba morgue, northeast of Baghdad, 16 September 2007. The boy was shot by an unidentified sniper while riding with his family in a public bus from Baghdad to Baquba

A picture combo shows Iraqi mother Wafaa Hussein, mourning over the body of her dead son Thaer, aged six, at a Baquba morgue, northeast of Baghdad, 16 September 2007. The boy was shot by an unidentified sniper while riding with his family in a public bus from Baghdad to Baquba

I run my fingers through my childs hair. So young and beautiful. So full of life. So full of laughter. I pray for every single day that he’s safe. I pray that his Creator keeps him and every other child from harms way.I wonder what prayers Wafaa had for her six year old son Thaer when they boarded the bus in Baquba. What prayers did she have for her sons lifeless body? There is one power that a mother has – that is to comfort her child. The child instinctively turns to the mother when it’s in pain. When it needs to be reassured, soothed. When Thaer got shot, Wafaa couldn’t reassure her son that everything would be fine. She couldn’t return him to his normal happy state. Instead she had to pray for his soul and wail in pain for the suffering of her child and this pathetic senseless war.

It infuriates me to see mothers’ supporting the troops in Iraq or Afghanistan. They pray for the safe return of their sons’ and daughters’ – but do they pray for the innocent civilians who have been touched by America’s horrific war? As they clutch their bibles I wonder if they remember to say a prayer for all the little Thaers’? Or are they just collateral damage? While Bush is counting the money flow in to his pockets I wonder when he will find the time to count the number of lives he has devasted and killed.

At least 900 000 civilians have been killed and hundred thousands more by colera, maleria and other diseases. I think Bush has managed to do more damage than a couple of jars of Anthrax. Someone has to stop this mass murderer whose on the rampage for more American- imperialisme, yes American world-domination.

~ by no2wars on 08/12/2007.

5 Responses to “IS THIS WHAT AMERICAN MOTHERS ARE SUPPORTING?”

  1. […] are about whatever is in the news at the time. When I started this blog I wrote mainly about Iraq. Some of the pictures from Baghdad were too painful and I felt forced to express in words what I […]

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She
    never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic
    but I had to tell someone!

  3. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but
    other than that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read.

    I will definitely be back.

  4. Manabadi AP Inter 1st & 2nd Yrs Final result 2013 Table
    of Intermediate Education and learning , Manabadi
    , Andhra Pradesh launched the 1st 12 months effects for the Standard

  5. Wafaa. Wafaa. Beyond the bloodred horizon, may he shine his light in your darkest night. Until you see him again. If one of us is killed, aren`t we all?

    Thank you for writing about them. For remembering. And this now goes on in Gaza and elsewhere..every day. America wake up. Europe wake up. Everybody WAKE UP!

Leave a Reply

 
